Music News

Jaan Rääts and Tõnu Kõrvits awarded the Cultural Prize of the Republic of Estonia

By the decision of Estonian Government, the Cultural Prize of the Republic of Estonia was ascribed to Hellar Grabbi, Jaan Rääts and Jaan Tooming for a long-time activity and outstanding creative achievements. Composer Jaan Rääts (1932) is one of the most productive Estonian composers and main figures of the stylistic innovation of the 1960s' Estonian music, a longtime leader of musical and social life. The main part of his oeuvre is formed by instrumental music: he is the author of 10 symphonies, 24 instrumental concerts, two concerts for chamber orchestra and numerous chamber works.

Beside lifework prizes, Cultural Prize of the Republic of Estonia for outstanding artistic achievements in 2011 was awarded to composer Tõnu Kõrvits (1969) whose output in last year consisted of 12 premieres, four of them abroad. The same prize is to be given to conductor Arvo Volmer, actress Anu Lamp, painter Tiit Pääsuke and writer Mari Vallisoo.

Jaan Rääts
Photo: Harri Rospu

Tõnu Kõrvits
Photo: Kaupo Kikkas

Cultural Prizes will be handed over at the ceremony held on 24th of February, the anniversary of the Republic of Estonia, in the assembly hall of the University of Tartu.